One More Mile

September 1, 2014 § Leave a comment


Eyes follow lines that laced wings beat
Into the wind, making changes
Across scenes hiked by your two feet
That couldn’t even manage
To dance nightly with my mother

When these arches can’t stretch
For one more mile of rock
This wanderer’s pack rests harshly
Complaining of burdens and memories
On knees I once bounced on

I know the name “father” makes stark contrast
With the yellow cups the laced wings drink from
(It’s the color of mom’s old house dress)
But those arches couldn’t stretch
For one more mile of rock

My ears feel with green needles
From there across the gap
My face blends into cold mountain sides
My feet stretch out into damp grasses
And my body blends
Into one more mile of rock

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading One More Mile at Evolve or Sigh.

meta

